Arch Linux: HP Color LaserJet 177fw Printer

I have a shared printer on my workstation. The printer model is “HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP m177fw” and my OS is Arch Linux. I had a trouble trying to put this thing to work for me.

Basically, you have to install hplip and hplip-plugin packages. The first one, you can find at the “official” repository by using pacman. While the last one, you can download from AUR.

Considering that you have already installed CUPS, in my system, I enabled and started cups server by typing:

# systemctl enable org.cups.cupsd.service
# systemctl start org.cups.cupsd.service

Then, I added the printer by browsing at:

http://localhost:631

The driver that I used is:

HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP m177fw, hpcups 3.15.11, requires proprietary plugin (color)

That’s all,

Leave a Reply

