Labeling Wire Cables

Hi,

I was searching about good ways to label wire cable, as generic as possile, and I found this post and I liked it. So, I decided to share it here on my post.

Advices from that post:

– Don’t label the patch panel
– Try and be as generic as possible, while still being accurate
– Count Patch Panels from top down
– When labeling cables at servers and switchports, bring the label back 3-6 inches from the end. (Useful in dense networks)

Labeling Wire Cable

However, I guess is better to label with initial names (i.e. P:01, means Port 01). So, the case depicted above would be:

WC1-R:01-PP:02-P:21

That’s all,

Leave a Reply

