Boost in ndnSIM

Hi,

When I tried to use ndnSIM (Named Data Networking Simulator), which is based on NS-3, on Gentoo and I found first problem with boost library. The problem was a little bit strange for me, because ndnSIM requires boost version greater than 1.48 and I have 1.49 installed on Gentoo. So, when I tried to configure with ‘./waf configure’ command, the waf tell me that graph library of boost wasn’t installed in my computer. Hence, I tried to use flags like –boost-libs and –boost-includes, but whithout success.

To solve my problem, I installed new boost library, in a separate directory, and I tried again. That’s time, I got success to configure and run an ndnSIM script. I followed the steps bellow:

To configure as an user:

$ wget http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/boost/boost/1.53.0/boost_1_53_0.tar.bz2
$ tar jxf boost_1_53_0.tar.bz2
$ cd boost_1_53_0
$ ./bootstrap.sh

To install as a root:

# ./b2 --prefix=/usr/local install

Maybe, you need to set LD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable to run ndnSIM scripts:

$ export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/lib

That’s all,

Leave a Reply

