Accessing HD from Gentoo linux

Hello,

If you would like to access your entire disk driver, you could use Gentoo linux by booting up from a CD or another media type. You check out Gentoo web page and find what I’m presenting here. However, I prepared an abstract (very simple) to proceed… let’s say, you have troubles on your GDM and you don’t have to enter by putting your login name and password. So, in this case, it’s might possible to use gentoo linux. Recently, I’ve had many issues related to video drivers… so, I used Gentoo disc to access my HD… I’ve had installed gentoo on my HD before, but I did something not good.. so my desktop ‘crashed’ đŸ˜› … and by using Gentoo disc, and some commands, I fixed it.

Put you Gentoo disc and boot from it. After that, type these commands..

# mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo  
# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
# mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/gentoo/home 

# mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc 
# mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys 
# mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev 

# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash 
# env-update 
>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache... 
# source /etc/profile 
# export PS1="(chroot) $PS1" 

That configuration above is very specific.. I mean, the number of partition and the system that was installed on my HD. It was the same Gentoo. Actually, I don’t know how it will work with another types of Linux operating system. Well, if you Gentoo, you can use the example above as well.. but, I suggest to look for Gentoo web site.

That’s all,

Leave a Reply

